Birds, Bugs, and Boats… and Nelsolonika?

Part II.V

(A surprise addition to my three part story)

The Unexpected

It was getting very close to me leaving for the North when one of my aunts surprised us with a visit.  With her, were a couple really cool friends she had made since seeing her last, and they were on their way to Nelson,BC for a few days.  When I was invited to come along, I honestly wasn’t sure if I should go or not since I had not planned on it.  However, those who know me well enough, know that I can’t say no to going to that wonderful place.  For those who do not know, Nelson is a very artsy community with beautiful buildings, beautiful people (inside and out), exceptional food, new experiences, and with no bad coffee to be found.  It is also very close to my birthplace, just a fifteen minute drive away… so to me, it is always like coming to a long lost home.  I never grew up there but it is though my subconscious remembers.

DSCN5466

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller

20150728_195322

Java java!

We were on our way, drinking good coffee and singing good songs.  It was a beautiful, sunny day and everything felt so exciting and perfectly unplanned.  We weren’t exactly sure where we were going to sleep or much of anything; we were just going.  It felt really good not to know.

DSCN5461

My aunt is so pretty when she laughs 🙂

DSCN5464

Finding a place to sleep in Nelson wasn’t hard for us since some more of our family was visiting the area as well.  We did stay out quite late each night so we would just show up to sleep.  It was very fun to go out exploring.  We spent a lot of our night hours at the Yellow Deli, drinking their AMAZING hot apple ciders.  Other than their amazing food/beverages, and service, the best thing about the Yellow Deli is that they are open 24 hours a day (no, it is not a bar or anything resembling one), five days a week!  It is the most magical little place and to anyone going to Nelson, you have to stop there to make your trip complete.

20150727_232628 20150727_232651

20150729_000957

A really good night with really good people, exploring the town and scaring the tourists 😉

20150728_000134

If you need another reason to go…

20150728_224631

20150729_123611

While in town one day, I was sitting out on the sidewalk journalling and I was mistaken for a homeless person… and was offered a doughnut as well as a zucchini haha

20150728_195443

If you are ever here, fallow the path and once you are in the center, clap 🙂

20150728_195252

A write up on the labyrinth

 20150729_144150 IMG_20150728_183847

Before we knew it, our time was up in this wonderful place, so we headed back towards home.  However, this was not the end of the adventure for me.  Part way home, we stopped in to see my cousins and they ended up convincing me to spend a couple nights there as well.  I had a really nice time with them and managed to complete a couple pieces of jewelry for two of them.

20150730_201522

Beautiful blues with buttons, handmade Fimo beads (by me) and a hand-wrapped lake stone.

20150731_175242

Two tones of hemp with handmade Fimo beads (by me)

I am very glad that I got to go on this unexpected journey through the valley and very thankful for the people I got to spend this time with.  This was a good way to enjoy the Kootenays before the long trip ahead…

To be continued…

Leave a Comment! I always love your feedback!

