Someone I See But Do Not Know

Jittery and abrupt, this man takes no time to be patient.  His body quivers with the anticipation of his daily coffee.  It is not the happy quiver of excitement that consumes him, but the shakes of a man seeking an escape.  I never knew that coffee could be an escape but I suppose it may be for some.

His eyes jump out at me as he asks for his regular coffee and he tells me all the woes that have ruined his day.  It is only 9 am and he has no optimism for what may come.  His coffee is a centimeter too high in his cup, his voice grows.  I dump it out and it becomes too low.  Finally the perfect height is reached and he pays, demanding a receipt.  I smile anyways and he gives me a look which is neither friendly or unkind.  He holds that look for a long moment before finally turning away.

I watch him leave and walk a few meters from the shop.  He lights a cigarette and stares off into traffic.  His windbreaker jacket is an awkward shade of blue and stands out amongst the many people walking by.  I then notice the way his faded baseball cap makes his graying tufts of hair stick out at awkward angles.  Staring at him, I can’t help but wonder about this man and what created him into such an awkward character.  However, there is one thing I am sure of… he will be back in 20 minutes for his free refill.

DSCN1578  ©

Leave a Comment! I always love your feedback!

