The Reign of Technology

DSCN0588

Today I watched a video that really, deeply, bothered me.  It wasn’t a video on famine, pollution, or war.  It was simply a video on cellphones.  This video wasn’t about health risks, money, or new technological advances.  No, it wasn’t even a documentary.  This was a short film, without dialogue, that simply observed someone’s day in the generation in which we find ourselves now; the wireless generation.

This video didn’t over exaggerate; it wasn’t even bias.   It showed me something that we see everywhere each and every day.  However, it is different seeing it like this.  You may even realize, like  I did, that this is something you are guilty of.

Watching this video made me ache inside.  What I saw were people missing out on so much in their lives because they were too consumed by social media, text messages, phone calls, and even just capturing the moment they were in.  They were too consumed by these things to actually just enjoy the moment.

So much of our time and effort gets put into an invisible world we created called “the internet”.  We are so busy trying to share our lives that we miss them; they simply pass us by like clouds in the sky.  And this scares me.  This scares me more than I know how to say.

Technology is like an addiction of sorts.  You get a taste and only want more and more until it consumes your whole life.  And don’t get me wrong, technology has many great things to offer, especially when we don’t abuse it.  I think technology is great if we are using it for something, such as learning or creating; as long as it doesn’t get put before real life.  There is nothing more important or more worth your time than real life, with real people.

Abusing technology can come with many side effects but the one that bothers me most is that it destroys communication.  Technology brings people together the world over but now that is our most comfortable form of communication.  When was the last time you called someone up just to talk?  When was the last time you just drove over?  Now when was the last time you texted someone?  For me, technology has majorly impacted the way I communicate face to face, I have a terribly hard time with it and like to avoid it.

Finally, I have come to the conclusion that we are letting our gadgets run our lives rather than treat them like the tools that they are.  We are constantly glancing at our phones with holes in our hearts and stress on our faces.  We worry about what we may or may not have missed on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, etc.  We don’t want to miss out.  And in not wanting to miss out, we have already missed so much.

If you would like to watch the video that influenced me to write this, click here.

©

Leave a Comment! I always love your feedback!

