The Point and Purpose

Sometimes, when I’m at work, I can feel the fluorescent lights beating down on me.

It’s quiet.  I yawn and stare up at them.  They do not feel right to me.  I swear I can feel them sucking out my soul… or maybe it’s just my imagination.  Maybe it’s just the people, not the place.  Perhaps I don’t belong.  I believe we all have a purpose and we know when we are not following it… maybe this is a sign that I am not following mine?

If I am not following mine, then how do I decide where to go? Will something give me a little shove in the right direction?  Going in blind is always a little unsettling… but maybe that is the point of life?  Since we only get one life (that we know of) shouldn’t we be taking many leaps of faith then?  What is the point of being comfortable all of the time when life is so short to begin with?  Or is that the goal instead?  Many people seem to strive for an unattainable happiness and comfort… are they on the right path?  Who is to say?  Perhaps that is their purpose.  Should that be mine?

20130818_204014

Is it not those who stray from the path who find what they are looking for?  Maybe we should all do a little bushwhacking.  Perhaps the whole point of this journey is the adventure.  Maybe the point isn’t your rank or if you met the status quo, but instead the lessons you’ve learned, the knowledge you’ve acquired, and the beauty you’ve seen.  Maybe the point to this whole thing is to feel the sand between your toes, feel the rain on your face, love passionately, and live as though it were your only day.

Now living like it was your only day everyday, I think, would be rather difficult.  Would I be spending all my days the way I am right now?  Definitely not.  Would you?  Maybe if we spent our free time like it was our only day… maybe that would be good enough.

Either way, each of our purposes are different and we should never stop striving for that purpose.  It’s not necessarily fate or destiny but a choice.  Our choices determine the fate that awaits us.  What will you choose?

©

Leave a Comment! I always love your feedback!

